2017-18 Youth Confirmation Course

This year’s Youth Confirmation Course is going to be different from previous years. We’re introducing some new stuff, and bringing back some former stuff. If you or someone you know is in 9th-12th grades, interested in growing deeper in the Christian faith, and want to explore the meaning of “membership” at University Presbyterian Church and the Presbyterian Church (USA), then register below.

The class will cover a broad survey of Church history, the Bible and how it came to be, the task of theological reflection, church governance, and, of course, the meaning of membership within the Presbyterian Church (USA). Both those interested in learning more about membership as well those who have previously completed confirmation are welcome to join us!

The meeting schedule is:
Sun, Oct. 15 5:00pm-6:00pm PRELIMINARY MEETING: Students and parents will gather to review our schedule, develop a covenant of norms and expectations, and students will begin choosing potential mentors.
Sun, Nov. 5 5:00pm-6:00pm MEET YOUR MENTORS: Students will meet their mentors, review hopes and expectations, engage in some spiritual exercises, and have their first one-on-one conversation with their mentors.
Sun, Dec. 10 5:00pm-6:00pm 2nd MEETING WITH MENTORS: A time to check-in, share insights, and ask questions.
Sun, Jan. 14 5:00pm-6:00pm Class #1: Our first formal class with students and mentors, sharing further insights, and beginning our course of study.
Sun, Feb. 4 5:00pm-6:00pm Class #2
Sun, Feb. 11 5:00pm-6:00pm Class #3
Sun, Mar. 4 5:00pm-6:00pm Class #4
Tempe High School Spring Break – May 10-18
Sun, Mar. 25 5:00pm-6:00pm Class #5
Sun, Apr. 1 Easter — No Class
Sun, Apr. 3 5:00pm-6:00pm Class #6
Sun, Apr. 22 5:00pm-6:00pm Class #7
Fri, Apr. 27 – Sat., Apr. 28 5:00pm-5:00pm Confirmation Retreat (required)
Sun, May 13 12:15pm-1:15pm SESSION: Students wishing to become members meet with a commission of Session.
Sun, May 20 9:30am PUBLIC PROFESSION OF FAITH: Students joining will make their public professions of faith during Sunday morning worship, and be received by the congregation, and all students who complete confirmation, whether or not they join the membership of the church, will be confirmed in their baptismal identity.

If you have questions, please contact Pastor Eric by clicking here
or via the church office: (480) 966-6267.

Registration deadline is October 11, 2017.
This deadline will have to be strictly adhered to
in order to allow time to prepare materials.

Register by completing the form below:

Email List
Full Month Calendar

This week…